Bang Pa In Palace
A summer palace designed for Thai monarchs during the 17th century, Bang Pa-In Palace has a charming collection of houses and pavilions.
There are a variety of Thai, Chinese, Italian & Victorian architectural styles surrounded by beautiful gardens as well as a lake with a magnificent sala in it.
Originally built by King Prasat Thong in 1632, Bang Pa-In Palace was abandoned after the sacking of Ayutthaya in 1767. The palace was partially restored by King Mongkut (Rama IV) in the 1850s and the restoration was completed by King Chulalongkorn (Rama V).
The gardens are wonderful and it's worth the stroll just to enjoy the scenery and the scents. There are plenty of trees which provide welcome relief from the heat of the morning sun & a brightly-painted lookout tower for those who are fit.
The beautiful pavilion of Phra Thinang Aisawan Thippa-At sitting in the middle of a lake has been designated as the archetype of the Thai pavilion or Sala Thai, a national symbol of Thailand. Built in the year 1876 it is the only Thai-style building in the palace.
Many consider this to be one of the finest buildings to be found anywhere in the Kingdom. The bronze statue standing in the middle represents King Chulalongkorn (Rama V) in the uniform of a Field Marshal and was erected by his son King Vajiravudh (Rama VI).